Shape determines the quality

During cold rolling, the shape of the strips is today one of the most important distinguishing features when assessing strip quality. With different measuring rolls and the VIP 08 optical system, Vollmer covers the whole spectrum of strip shape measurement technology.

Vollmer uses the results from all the systems for the optional Automatic Flatness Control (AFC).

BFI shapemeter roll
BFI shapemeter roll

Tactile

The BFI shapemeter roll that we produce under licence from the VDEh-Betriebsforschungsinstitut (BFI) and the segment roll for stretch bend levellers developed by us cover the whole spectrum of tactile strip shape measurement technology.


VIP 08 camera measuring system
VIP 08 camera measuring system

Optical

Vollmer has once again written history with the VIP 08 optical shape measuring system. When measuring flat strip, the system achieves an exceptionally high resolution with up to 200 measurement zones across the width of the rolled stock.


Strip shape control

Our detailed know-how of the rolling process makes us one of the few manufacturers to also offer complete control systems for the strip shape – from the sensor through to the control of the adjusting elements.

Excursion: Flat or level?

Unflatness results from tension in the strip which varies over the strip width. It expresses itself among other things by waviness at the strip edges or in the middle of the strip. The tension is relieved during slitting – and the individual strips are different in length.

The flatness is defined in I-units One I-unit corresponds to a difference in length of 10 µm per metre of strip length.

The levelness describes the topography of the strip surface, i.e. the deviations in height observed when the strip lies on a level surface.

The measuring rollers and the VIP08 optical system from Vollmer measure the flatness.

Planheit bestimmt die Qualität

Beim Kaltwalzen zählt die Planheit der Bänder zu den wichtigsten Unterscheidungsmerkmalen bei der Beurteilung von Bandqualität. Mit unterschiedlichen Messrollen und dem optischen System VIP 08 deckt Vollmer das gesamte Spektrum der Planheits-Messtechnik ab.

Die Ergebnisse aller Systeme nutzt Vollmer für die optionale automatische Planheitsregelung (AFC – Automatic Flatness Control).

BFI-Messrolle
BFI-Messrolle

Taktil

Die BFI-Messrolle, die wir in Lizenz des VDEh-Betriebsforschungsinstitutes herstellen, und die von uns entwickelte Segmentrolle für Streck-Biege-Richtanlagen decken das gesamte Spektrum der berührenden Planheits-Messtechnik ab.


Optisches Planheitsmesssystem VIP 08
Optisches Planheitsmesssystem VIP 08

Optisch

Mit dem optischen Planheitsmesssystem VIP 08 hat Vollmer erneut Geschichte geschrieben: Das System erzielt bei der Messung am ebenen Band mit bis zu 200 über die Breite des Messgutes verteilten Messzonen eine außergewöhnlich hohe Auflösung.


Planheitsregelung

Unsere detaillierte Kenntnis des Walzprozesses lässt uns zu den wenigen Herstellern zählen, die auch vollständige Regelsysteme für die Bandplanheit bieten – vom Sensor bis zur Ansteuerung der Stellglieder.

Exkurs: Plan oder eben?

Unplanheit beruht auf Spannungen im Band, die über seine Bandbreite unterschiedlich sind. Sie äußert sich unter anderem durch Rand- oder Mittenwellen. Beim Längsteilen bauen sich die Spannungen ab – die einzelnen Streifen sind dann ungleich lang.

Die Planheit wird über I-Units definiert: Eine I-Unit entspricht einem Längenunterschied von 10 µm pro Meter Bandlänge.

Die Ebenheit beschreibt die Topografie der Bandoberfläche, also die Höhenabweichungen, die festgestellt werden, wenn das Band auf einer ebenen Auflagefläche liegt.

Die Messrollen und das optische System VIP 08 von Vollmer messen die Planheit.