Proven for decades

The contact gauges that measure the thickness of the strip with an accuracy of a few micrometres are renowned for their outstanding precision and exceptional reliability: Almost 2000 systems that have gone into operation worldwide in recent decades are still in use even today.

They still form an integral part of the measurement technology in new plants where the highest precision is demanded.

Contact gauge VBM
Contact gauge VBM

Flexible from 0.01 to 24 mm

Tactile measurement is employed at all stages of the strip production process – on the annealing line and during rolling, on the finishing line or during strip processing as well as in the steel service centre. Vollmer delivers the systems in different versions for thicknesses from 0.01 to 24 mm.

Precise even on wavy strip

With a measuring precision of down to one micrometre per millimetre of strip thickness, they meet the demands of modern rolling mills. Contact gauges adapt to the strip passage and follow any waviness of the material. They thus compensate angular errors by actively adjusting the sensors perpendicularly to the wavy strip material.

The principle - The technology in detail

The thickness is measured by using extremely precise transducers to calculate the distance between the two sensors which touch the upper and lower surfaces of the strip. The advantage of this method is that – as with the laser – the thickness is measured irrespective of the alloy. Material parameters do not have to be entered and updated.

Automatic zeroing

Vollmer uses crowned measuring sensors made from natural diamond, one of the hardest materials employed in industrial applications. When the gauge is in its parking position during changing of the coils, the sensors touch one another and the system performs automatic zeroing.

Bewährt seit Jahrzehnten

Die Kontaktmessgeräte, die die Dicke des Bandes mit einer Genauigkeit im Mikrometerbereich messen, sind für ihre hervorragende Präzision und außerordentliche Zuverlässigkeit bekannt: Fast 2.000 Systeme, die in den letzten Jahrzehnten in Betrieb genommen wurden, arbeiten noch heute in aller Welt.

Nach wie vor sind sie auch beim Neubau von Anlagen, bei denen es auf höchste Präzision ankommt, fester Bestandteil der Messtechnik.

Kontaktmessgerät VBM
Kontaktmessgerät VBM

Flexibel von 0,01 bis 24 mm

Die taktile Messung ist in allen Prozessstufen der Herstellung von Band – in Beizen ebenso wie beim Walzen, in der Adjustage oder der Bandbehandlung genauso wie im Stahl-Service-Center im Einsatz. Vollmer liefert die Systeme in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen für Dicken von 0,01 bis 24 mm.

Präzise auch auf welligem Band

Mit einer Messgenauigkeit von bis zu einem Mikrometer pro Millimeter Banddicke erfüllen sie die Anforderungen moderner Walzgerüste. Kontaktmessgeräte passen sich dem Bandlauf an und folgen welligem Material. So kompensieren sie Winkelfehler durch aktive lotrechte Ausrichtung der Taster zum welligen Bandmaterial.

Das Prinzip - die Technik im Detail

Die Dicke wird gemessen, indem der Abstand der beiden Messeinsätze, die die Oberfläche des Bandes jeweils von oben und unten berühren, mit extrem genauen Wegaufnehmern erfasst wird. Vorteil dieser Methode ist, dass die Dicke – wie beim Laser – legierungsunabhängig gemessen wird. Materialkennwerte brauchen nicht eingegeben und gepflegt zu werden.

Automatischer Nullabgleich

Vollmer verwendet ballig geschliffene Messeinsätze aus Naturdiamant, einem der härtesten in der industriellen Anwendung verwendeten Materialien. Wenn das Messgerät sich beim Wechseln der Coils in seiner Parkposition befindet, berühren sich die Messtaster und das System führt einen automatischen Nullabgleich aus.