The new standard for precision and speed

VTLG with large measuring depth
VTLG with large measuring depth

With the new VTLG Series laser systems, Vollmer is giving strip thickness measurement new impetus: They combine the highest precision with rolling mill-oriented design. Thanks to their unique measuring method, they are suitable for use in cold rolling mills. With a measuring precision of ± 1 µm and scanning rate of 50 kHz, they offer the precision and speed necessary for the control of the strip thickness.


VTLG front view
VTLG front view

VTLG systems are the only laser gauges to measure the strip thickness during rolling in the mill, thus opening up completely new possibilities in production and quality assurance for our customers.

WAs with our contact gauges, they measure the thickness irrespective of the alloy – ideal preconditions for use in the rolling mill, but also on the annealing line, in the finishing section, on the strip edge miller or in the steel service centre.

Simple and safe

An automatic air cleaning system for the measuring window and beam path and the innovative temperature compensation ensure the highest precision even under difficult environmental conditions. As the lasers conform to laser protection class 3B, no additional beam protection guards are necessary.

The principle - The technology in detail

On the upper and lower sides of a C-frame is a compact measuring head which both transmits the measurement beam and receives the reflected light. Both sensors measure the distance from the strip surface from their perspective. The system then calculates the thickness of the strip from the measured distances and the distance between the two sensors.

VTLG with extended adjustment station
VTLG with extended adjustment station

The fact that the two sensors operate absolutely synchronously contributes significantly to the high precision of the systems. They are integrated into a sturdy, compact C-frame that moves out of the line automatically at the end of the strip.

With an internal scanning rate of 50 kHz, the scalable analog output provides the input signal for the high-speed thickness control within milliseconds.


Permanently accurate

Every time the C-frame moves into or out of its parking position alongside the strip, the measuring system passes through the permanently installed adjustment station. The system thereby measures the inserted captive gauge blocks representing the whole measuring range of the respective application. The VTLG calibrates itself and makes any necessary corrections automatically. This ensures that the system measures accurately at all times.

Data Sheet

Der neue Maßstab für Präzision und Schnelligkeit

VTLG mit großer Messtiefe
VTLG mit großer Messtiefe

Mit den neuen Lasersystemen der Baureihe VTLG gibt Vollmer der Dickenmessung von Band neue Impulse: Sie kombinieren höchste Präzision mit walzwerksgerechter Konstruktion. Aufgrund ihres einzigartigen Messverfahrens sind sie für den Einsatz im Kaltwalzgerüst geeignet. Mit einer Messgenauigkeit von ± 1 µm und einer Messrate von 50 kHz bieten sie die Präzision und die Schnelligkeit, die für die Regelung der Banddicke erforderlich ist.


VTLG Frontansicht
VTLG Frontansicht

VTLG-Systeme messen als einzige Lasermessgeräte die Banddicke während des Walzens im Walzgerüst. So eröffnen sie unseren Kunden vollkommen neue Möglichkeiten in Produktion und Qualitätssicherung.

Wie unsere berührenden Messgeräte messen sie die Dicke legierungsunabhängig – ideale Voraussetzung für den Einsatz im Walzwerk aber auch in der Beize, in der Adjustage, an der Bandfräse oder im Stahlservicecenter.

Einfach und sicher

Eine automatische Freiblaseinrichtung des Messfensters und des Strahlengangs sowie die innovative Temperaturkompensation gewährleisten höchste Präzision auch unter schwierigen Umgebungsbedingungen. Da die Laser der Laserschutzklasse 3B entsprechen, ist keinerlei zusätzlicher baulicher Strahlenschutz erforderlich.

Das Prinzip - die Technik im Detail

In einem C-Rahmen ist auf der Ober- und der Unterseite je ein kompakter Messkopf angeordnet, der sowohl den Messstrahl sendet als auch das reflektierte Licht empfängt. Beide Sensoren messen aus ihrer Perspektive den Abstand zur Bandoberfläche. Aus den gemessenen Abständen und dem Abstand der beiden Sensoren zueinander errechnet das System die Dicke des Bandes.

VTLG mit ausgefahrener Justierstation
VTLG mit ausgefahrener Justierstation

Zur hohen Genauigkeit der Systeme trägt wesentlich bei, dass beide Sensoren vollkommen synchron arbeiten. Sie sind integriert in einen kompakten, robusten C-Rahmen, der bei Bandende automatisch aus der Linie fährt.

Mit einer internen Messrate von 50 kHz liefert der skalierbare Analogausgang im Millisekundenbereich das Eingangssignal für die hochdynamische Dickenregelung.


Dauerhaft exakt

Immer wenn der C-Rahmen in seine Parkposition neben dem Band oder aus ihr heraus fährt, durchläuft das Messsystem die fest eingebaute Justierstation. Dabei misst das System die unverlierbar eingelegten Endmaße, die den gesamten Messbereich der jeweiligen Anwendung repräsentieren. Das VTLG gleicht sich selber ab und korrigiert sich gegebenenfalls automatisch. So ist sichergestellt, dass das System zu jedem Zeitpunkt präzise misst.

Datenblatt