Efficiency through modernisation

Over 100 successfully completed projects worldwide.

With the combination of the understanding of the whole rolling process and the experience with modern control methods, we have implemented modernisation solutions in many rolling mills that have significantly improved the quality of the finished product and the efficiency of the production.

Rolling mill with strip shape and strip thickness contol
Rolling mill with strip shape and strip thickness contol

For thickness control, for example, we convert mills from electric motor to servo-hydraulic screwdown of the stands. We also replace pancake cylinders or the combination of spindle and hydraulic screwdown with modern long-stroke cylinders. Vollmer has already modernised mills with a rolling force of 3,000 t.

For the modernisation of the shape control system, too, Vollmer offers complete solutions through to the control and modification of the adjusting elements.


One example of individual customer solutions is that as part of rolling mill modernisations for wedge-shaped strips, we use the inlet-side shape measuring rolls as pivoting rolls for strip centering control. The flatness computer receives the input signals for this from the strip edge detection unit that forms part of the scope of supply. All the control algorithms in a mill – thickness, shape and centering control – thus use the same compact PCI.

Effizienz durch Modernisierung

Über 100 erfolgreich realisierte Projekte in aller Welt.

Mit der Kombination aus dem Verständnis des gesamten Walzprozesses und der Erfahrung mit modernen Regelmethoden haben wir in vielen Walzwerken Modernisierungslösungen realisiert, die die Qualität des Endproduktes und die Effizienz der Produktion deutlich gesteigert haben.

Walzgerüst mit Bandplanheits- und Banddickenregelung
Walzgerüst mit Bandplanheits- und Banddickenregelung

Für die Dickenregelung rüsten wir beispielsweise die elektromotorische auf eine servohydraulische Anstellung der Gerüste um. Unter anderem ersetzen wir Pancake-Zylinder oder die Kombination von Spindel- und hydraulischer Anstellung durch moderne Langhubzylinder. Vollmer hat bereits Gerüste mit einer Walzkraft von 3.000 t modernisiert.

Auch für die Modernisierung der Planheitsregelung bietet Vollmer vollständige Lösungen bis hin zur Ansteuerung und Modifizierung der Stellglieder.


Beispielhaft für individuielle Kundenlösungen ist, dass wir im Rahmen von Walzwerksmodernisierungen bei keilförmigen Bändern die einlaufseitigen Planheitsmessrollen als Schwenkrollen zur Bandmittenregelung einsetzen. Die Eingangssignale hierfür erhält der Planheitsrechner von der zum Lieferumfang gehörenden Bandkantenerkennung. So nutzen alle Regelagorithmen in einem Walzgerüst – Dicken-, Planheits- und Mittenregelung – denselben CompactPCI.