VIP 08 camera measuring system
VIP 08 camera measuring system

The VIP 08 optical system also measures the flatness of the strip and not the surface topography. It operates with an exceptionally high resolution for flatness measuring systems of up to 200 measuring zones across the width of the strip.

VIP 08 is compact and can be easily integrated into existing lines: It requires a free field of vision onto the strip of only 200 mm. Installations immediately above and below the strip are not necessary.

By contrast with other optical systems, it measures even with a very low specific strip tension between 20, 50 or 70 N/mm², depending on the strip thickness, strip width and E-modulus. It can be used at speeds of up to 1,500 m/min and material widths up to 3,000 mm.


VIP 08 uses a narrow, very uniform diffuse light bar that is projected by LEDs onto the strip to be measured and recorded by a matrix camera. During the measurement, the system evaluates the change in the angle of inclination of the strip surface during the movement.

VIP 08, type monoblock, offline flatness measurement
VIP 08, type monoblock, offline flatness measurement

Flexible application

Vollmer supplies the system in three versions:

  • In the "monobloc" version, the optical components are installed in a compact housing above the measured stock. The individual components thus have a fixed relation to one another. Furthermore, the system can be simply lifted off by crane, if necessary.
  • In the "dual" version, the light source and camera are installed as separate units at an angle above or alongside the strip. In this way the area immediately above the strip can remain free of installations.
  • Offline flatness measurement on strip sections with output of the wave length and height.

Optisches Planheitsmesssystem VIP 08
Optisches Planheitsmesssystem VIP 08

Das optische System VIP 08 misst ebenfalls die Planheit des Bandes und nicht die Oberflächentopografie. Es arbeitet mit einer für Planheitsmesssysteme außergewöhnlich hohen Auflösung von bis zu 200 über die Breite des Bandes verteilten Messzonen.

VIP 08 ist kompakt und einfach in bestehende Linien zu integrieren: Es benötigt lediglich 200 mm freie Sicht auf das Band. Einbauten unmittelbar über oder unter dem Band sind nicht erforderlich.

Im Gegensatz zu anderen optischen Systemen misst es auch bei sehr geringem spezifischen Bandzug zwischen 20, 50 oder 70 N/mm² abhängig von Banddicke, -breite und E-Modul. Es ist bei Geschwindigkeiten bis zu 1.500 m/min und bei Materialbreiten bis zu 3.000 mm einsetzbar.


VIP 08 nutzt einen schmalen, sehr gleichmäßigen diffusen Lichtbalken, der von Leuchtdioden auf das Band projiziert und von einer Matrixkamera aufgenommen wird. Bei der Messung wertet das System die Veränderung der Neigungswinkel der Bandoberfläche während der Bewegung aus.

VIP 08, Bauform Monoblock, Offline Planheitsmessung
VIP 08, Bauform Monoblock, Offline Planheitsmessung

Flexibel einsetzbar

Vollmer liefert das System in drei Ausführungen:

  • In der Ausführung „Monoblock“ befinden sich die Optikkomponenten in einem kompakten Gehäuse über dem Messgut. So sind die einzelnen Komponenten fest einander zugeordnet. Außerdem kann das System bei Bedarf einfach mit dem Kran abgehoben werden.
  • In der „Dual-Version“ sind die Lichtquelle und die Kamera als separate Einheiten schräg über oder neben dem Band angebracht. Auf diese Weise kann der Bereich direkt über dem Band frei von Einbauten bleiben.
  • Offline Planheitsmessung an Bandabschnitten mit Ausgabe der Wellenlänge und –höhe.

Datenblatt